1 lesson to set you up for life.

Hey there, I hope you’re doing fine, even if not, trust me, everything will be alright soon.

I was procrastinating on writing this email, it was my birthday yesterday (21st October).

I spent all my day hanging out with friends, eating out, enjoying, and doing absolutely 0 work.

I came home, it was 12 am, and my special day was over.

I knew I wasn’t going to sleep early.

Because every birthday of mine, I introspect on what I would have done better this past year.

And what went wrong, what went right, what went fine.

I thought I was going to build a fancy system, set up a protocol, and plan to follow thereafter and get into the ‘zone’ of self-improvement again.

But man I couldn’t be more wrong.

After an hour of doing this giggly little time waste, I realized something.

I just need to do the work.

And nothing else matters.

As long as you are getting work done, progressing towards your vision, accomplishing your tasks, and slowly, moving ahead every day, nothing else matters.

You literally need to do only 2 things:

  1. Set goals.

  2. Do the work.

Setting goals is important, as you gotta have an idea of where you’re going.

As they say, a dream without a plan is just a wish, it’s the same with goals.

Only having a vision is nothing when you don’t divide it into goals and small chunks of tasks to complete.

But at the end of the day, it’s all about completing the tasks, one by one.

But what about the cool-looking Notion templates and trackers?

Yeah, they’re good.

But you should be intelligent enough to know when you’re doing things that make you feel productive, and doing the things that actually make you productive.

Sure, having a habit tracker is good, but make sure you don’t spend more than 1 minute on tracking.

Sure, having a notion system is good, but make sure you don’t spend more time setting up the system than actually using it.

Sure, having a to-do list is good, but make sure you don’t spend more time writing tasks than actually doing them.

“But Atharva, you always write about setting up systems and give us frameworks all the time!”

Yes, I do.

But if you read them carefully, my #1 motive through them is to make you take some action.

Even my 100DaysOfCodeJournal is based on implementing as soon as possible, and not spending time on the journal itself.

You can see what others say about it:

I am keeping this one short, as I am writing this in a hurry, have my exams tomorrow, for 5 days straight.

I hope you crush the next week, and the X game is gonna get fired up now, stay tuned for what is yet to come :)

-Atharva