The 1 thing that stops 90% of creators

“Hey Atharva, I need your help, I see everyone writing on Twitter and building an audience, but I don’t know what to do!”

“I want to build an audience of fans, not followers, how do I do that?”

These are the questions I get almost every day, and most probably you are stuck in the beginner hell of Twitter too (yes, I still call it Twitter).

But you are not alone, I have been there, for 7 months.

I am sure you have not yet been stuck for 7 months in a row, I was, but I don’t want you to do the same.

I was stuck in my journey, After spamming the platform with roadmaps and resources, I realized this is not the correct way to grow on Twitter.

But what is the correct way then?

This email is all about it, by the end, you’ll have all of this knowledge with you:

  • Where to start

  • What content to post

  • What people to network

  • How much content is enough

In for a ride? Let’s go.

My not so ‘Personal’ Brand

It is November 2022, and my reach is down, only 5-10 likes per post, I am demotivated, and ready to quit this game.

Then I thought, let’s give this a final shot, go all in, and see what the results are.

I took a challenge:

30 Days, 30 threads.

Write 1 thread daily, for 30 days.

BOOM!

I got 1000 more followers, in 1 month.

Only to realize I made a mistake, a mistake that cost me my engagement.

I attracted an audience that was interested in my content, not me.

So what I want you to know is, stop falling for the numbers trap.

If you post:

  • ChatGPT threads

  • Top 10 AI tools

  • Roadmaps after roadmaps

Stop.

These might get likes, but not fans.

I can post a picture on a random Sunday because I like mobile photography and still get engagement.

That is the power of a personal brand.

So to avoid this trap, I am giving out a content strategy, which I use, to balance generic content + personality on my profile.

Do this when starting:

You have been inspired by me, or someone else, to build in public and share your learnings online, but you don’t know what to post.

Here are the 3 types of content I post:

  1. Growth Content:

This type of content generally gets more likes or engagement, It’s not great for my personal brand, but amazing to increase my numbers.

For example:

  • Valuable tip related to coding

  • Action step

  • How I tackled an obstacle

  • Lists

  • resources

  1. Authority Content:

I make this type of content to show expertise, but first, figure out whom you want to help, then showcase how you are an expert in doing what you do.

For me, I help developers like you build in public and write online to grow an audience, so for example, my content can be:

  • How I solved a specific problem

  • How to start on Twitter as a newbie

  • How I make friends and network on Twitter

  • How I write content that gets reach

  1. Personality Content:

With the help of this content, I build an audience of fans, not followers, and the best part, it’s the easiest to post.

Example:

  • A new habit I am starting

  • My personal opinions

  • Transformations

  • Wins

  • losses

  • Life stories

But how much to post?

To balance the content, I post 40% growth content, 40% authority, and 20% personality.

This way, the people who follow me, get to know me even better and stay here for the value.

And regarding how much to post, it depends, I’d say, go for 1x/day, when you are <1000 followers, and focus on engaging more.

What will get you to grow on Twitter is not your content,

It is…

Your Network.

Your friends.

Find 1 profile with >5,000 followers, go under their tweets, and replies, then find people to engage with.

Always remember, giving value > asking for something.

And you are good to go.

If you are still reading this, I have some exciting news.

I am building a small product, that will help you progress in coding, by using the exact strategy I told you today.

  • Build in public

  • Be consistent

  • Write online

  • Get more opportunities

Inside 1 single product.

I know what you are thinking about, and here’s the answer:

Ahem Ahem…

It’ll be FREE.

Yessir.

Anyway, that’s all I have for you today, my exams are close, gotta get back to studying.

More building-in-public emails coming your way, stay tuned.

-Atharva

P.S. Whenever you are ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

1) Get access to my full Coding system and get to know how I became a developer, with video explanations, here.

2) Growing on Twitter and building an audience is a dream for many people, if you are someone who wants to do the same, check this now.

3) Get specific guidance on how you can 3x your pace of progress in coding with building in public and writing online, click here.