1 Year of coding, 1 Lesson for life

READ TIME: 3 minutes

What does 1 year look like?

This is the 2nd issue of our newsletter and we are already getting into some very interesting topics and experiences I want to share with y’all.

No no! I am not going to talk about coding concepts and topics in the newsletter, it’ll get way too boring, and who wants a coding lesson on a fresh Sunday morning?

If I do, I am damn sure this is what your reaction would look like:

There is this 1 key lesson I need you to take away from my coding journey of a year.

What is that, what did coding teach me in a year that I & you can apply to all the aspects of our lives to progress?

Don’t let knowledge outpace your execution.

Before you scratch your head and get confused about what it means, let me explain the point I am trying to make here.

Planning is good, learning is better, applying is the best:

Remember when you planned on starting to learn to code and get into the tech field as a complete beginner, and excited to learn N number of new things on your journey?

That was the turning point, you then started to learn from various sources and tutorials for getting a grasp on what exactly is this coding thing ?!

But you are doing this 1 key mistake that is holding you back and your progress:

Learning, learning, and learning…

Let me break the ice and summarize it for you:

  • Start learning in small chunks and apply it to projects that use the concept you just learned. Not doing this is holding back so much progress you could make.

  • Trust me, this technique might seem slow to you, with the amount of information present, it will take forever for you to learn only HTML :p .

  • But once you get the idea behind doing this, you’ll progress faster than ever, and also not burnout overwhelmed with the stuff you learn.

I guess you got the point, now, even reading this email is a waste of time if you don’t apply what I just told you about, what to do then?

Action Step:

This will take you a maximum of 30 minutes: Go and learn a concept about anything you are currently learning in your journey, and apply it to a small component/variable, etc.

This can be applied to anything in life too, just listening to podcasts about productivity isn’t going to make you productive, right?

I think that’s enough to kickstart your Sunday morning with a bang, I hope you find this 1 lesson I learned, valuable and will learn something from this.

Btw, a small update from my life, I am focusing more on DSA (Data structures and algorithms) currently as my college placements are coming closer.

want this notion template? feel free to dm me on twitter.

I’ll see you next Sunday, 9:30 am IST, if you have any questions, feel free to reply to this email, I reply to everyone :)

- Atharva