What exactly is building in public?

Wake up, scroll YouTube and Instagram for 2 hours, eat something shit, play video games with my ‘friends’ all day, and sleep.

This was my routine, exactly 2 years ago.

I am not kidding.

Imagine the disgust I used to feel when the day was over and it was time to go to sleep.

Unimaginable, right?

I have lived through it.

But everything was going to change as I entered college.

If you don’t know it yet, I am pursuing computer science engineering in my last semester of college.

Yessir, it’s the last semester.

Every exam is the last, every submission is the last, and every event is the last.

“cries in happiness”

But anyway, that’s not the topic for today’s email.

We are going to talk about, how doing 1 simple thing, changed the course of my coding journey.

You already know it: building in public.

How exactly do you do it, though?

Let me give you a simple 3-step system that you can use TODAY and start your journey asap.

And no, you don’t need to invest 7 hours of your time daily to grow on X, that is not the motive behind building in public.

In fact, if you’re just starting out, growing your social media should be the last thought on your mind.

The first priority should always be learning.

I am not going to beat around the bush, let’s get started:

1. Build in public:

I always used to get confused about what to post/tweet when it came to sharing my journey or building in public.

After months of figuring it out, I realized I was overcomplicating it.

Let’s say you are a beginner in web development. What would building in public look like to you?

Coding and learning every day for 2–3 hours about concepts.

You have to post about it. What can you do?

  • Learning HTML? Write a thread about HTML semantics

  • Just started CSS? Tell how you are approaching this new technology.

  • Built a landing page? Give a video demo of how it looks and ask people for their suggestions

  • Starting a new course? Tag the creator and let them know you’re a new student.

It is as simple as it gets.

But there’s another way of building in public that many people tend to ignore.

The way with which I started my own journey, and probably the easiest way to get started with this stuff, What is it?👇️ 

2. 100DaysOfCode challenge:

No tip, no pros and cons, don’t need to explain anything to you here.

If you want to start your building in public journey, hands-down, start the

100DaysOfCode challenge, now you might think why is it a hyperlink.

On clicking the link, you’ll find all the systems I used to stay consistent over 2 years to

  • Land a job as a developer

  • build a online business

  • audience of 10,900+ legends

  • A personal brand which pays

But that’s not the topic for today, just start by learning any simple tech and get started with the challenge.

All because I took the first step.

3. Pick 3 topics to write about:

Choose 3 topics you can write about, or you’re learning in the process.

This will give birth to unlimited content ideas.

Any topics you’re currently learning and passionate about, for example, for me:

  1. Coding

  2. Writing online

  3. Personal branding

These are the things I write about, and I am currently working on them too.

Need content ideas? What to write about?

I have a solution to that too, in my notion system.

No, it is not a paid product.

It’s FREE, get it from here: click here

You’ll know some ways to write content about it.

Sigh.

That was a long one, took me 3 days to write, as I am busy with my college exams too, but somehow managed to do it.

Anyway, I will end our conversation for today with that.

Expect some more frequent emails your way soon.

I’ll see you in the next one, Keep hustling, you have this one life.

We’re all gonna make it.

-Atharva