I learned it in 2 minutes

I can’t believe it is this easy to learn new skills today.

I was at my uncle’s house, and his kid, my little brother, got a ninja star, something like this 🔯 , from his friend at school.

(Is that the React logo?)

It was made of paper.

I was chilling on the balcony, he came running at me and asked me to make one for him, because he had no idea how the weird kid at school made it.

My inner competitor spirit turned on.

His hopes were high for me.

And I had to make one so that he doesn’t get pissed off.

Or tell his friends at school that my brother can’t even make a ninja star.

I started sweating, I don’t even know origami, how the hell am I gonna make a star without knowing anything?

But then I remembered, I am a developer.

And what is the best skill we possess?

Asking Google the right questions.

Then what?

I opened YouTube, and searched “How to make a ninja star with paper” 

Boom.

100+ results teaching me how to make a star from scratch.

And then…

I watched a 1 minute tutorial.

Followed it thoroughly, and in the next 5 minutes:

I had made 6 ninja stars.

Crazy? I don’t think so.

As someone who didn’t even know what and how to use origami.

I learned the small piece of skill in 2 minutes and started using it as well.

Lesson?

There are all the resources in your reach, waiting to be utilized, but sometimes, because of our lack of discipline, we fail to use them.

You want to be a writer? ChatGPT is free
You want to start a newsletter? Beehiiv is free
You want to build in public? Posting on X is free
You want to become a coder? Tutorials are free

What are you waiting for then?

Go out there and keep searching for answers, they are waiting for you.

That’s all for today’s email.

I am going to switch up my email schedule though, maybe increase the frequency by a bit ;)?

Anyway, I’ll see you soon.

Keep working hard.

- Atharva