The project building myth

Hey there, I know you are tired of hearing the cliche advice on how to become a better developer.

You might already be a developer in a good enough position that you don’t even need to read this email, but:

There’s a small announcement about something I was avoiding for the past 2 years.

Just simply scroll down to the end and spare a minute to read it.

Anyway, if you’re someone who’s in the process of becoming better, yet to enter the industry, this email is for you.

Most of the mentors just throw jargon around like:

JUST BUILD PROJECTS BRO!

But how? Nobody tells you how to, nobody gives you a process, nobody gives you a framework.

Don't worry, I will.

It took me 50+ projects, trial and error, hours of tinkering around the screen, to develop a step-by-step process to build projects that will not only boost your resume, but your confidence too.

I will try to keep this email short and to the point, will not beat around the bush.

PS: There's a small announcement at the end of this email, even if you don't read it fully, don't forget to check out the announcement.

You might be a very good problem solver, a great programmer, an amazing designer, but if you don't have the appropriate projects to showcase your skill set, you won't get ahead in the industry.

My project and its explanation single-handedly landed me a software developer job.

I know you are tired of the gibberish thrown around building your resume, the truth is, you just have to build projects so that the employer can trust you with your skills.

Without further ado, let's get straight into it.

Here's a 3 step framework to build projects and become a job-ready developer:

1) Identify your tech stack:

No brainer, write down all the skills you have on a sheet of paper and identify which ones you are fluent with. This way, you get clarity about what to build exactly and your understanding of certain skill sets.

This step will clear all the brain fog and help you in decision making of the project to build.

Example: If I know MERN stack, it's obvious I will not choose a project using MEAN stack, I know this is very simple, but few people get confused in what to build.

This is the 1st step.

2) Build a solution, solve a problem:

P - PROBLEM

U - USER

S - SOLUTION

Use the PUS formula to decide if your idea is good, read below to know what it is.

The project you build should solve a specific PROBLEM, for a specific USER, with a specific SOLUTION.

This will help you explain the project better to the interviewer and showcase your problem solving skills as well.

3) Create a roadmap, with deadlines:

Nothing will make you work harder than having a roadmap with specific dates and deadlines in place.

If you think your project will take you 3 months to build, then it will take 3 months to build.

If you think your project will take you 1 month to build, then it will take 1 month to build.

As simple as that, this will help you prioritise your tasks better and learn along the way.

Well, that's it.

Don't forget that everything is a process, you will make mistakes, you will face errors that will take 4 days to get fixed, but don't give up.

The main goal is to learn, not showcase, your knowledge will be a better testament of your skills than anything else.

I wish you the best.

About the announcement, I am finally alive on Instagram.

Over the past 2 years, you might have thought, "Atharva, why don’t you have an account on Instagram?"

I like to stay very lowkey tbh, that was one of the main reasons, and also, reels, I don't want my attention span to equal that of a goldfish.

But now, after over 2 years of being on X, and creating 1000s of pieces of content, I decided to create an account and start re-purposing my content.

I still have no plans whatsoever about the type of content I'd post, but I thought that can be decided upon later.

Let's first start, we'll learn along the way.

So, if you want to follow me for some life updates, behind the scenes about what goes on in the life of someone managing his business along with 9-5, drop me a follow, I am following back the first 50 people who follow me, (geeky engagement hack).

The link to it: My Instagram account 

I will see you in the next one, till then, keep hustling buddy.