Reality hit me hard

If you follow me closely on Twitter, you know there are some things I preach a lot:

  • Show up every day

  • Build systems to stay consistent

  • Write online and build an audience to document your journey

But, did you ever ask me, do I practice all of these things myself?

Maybe never.

And that’s what I am here to tell you.

A confession.

I have not been coding daily and sharing my journey online.

There I said it, it’s tough to expose myself to you, who trusts me with the insights I provide, but I had to, couldn’t keep lying and just give advice that I myself don’t follow.

This started around 2 months ago, I had completely lost track of my development journey.

Because of college placements (yes, my on-campus placements are going on), I was so focused on DSA and problem-solving, that I quit development.

And as you might know the nature of coding.

If your flow breaks once, it’s done for.

There’s no going back.

Not to forget about my college, I am in the final year of my grad, giving UNIT TESTS!

Think about it, you are a CSE Undergrad and have to waste hours in college for giving a test that no one gives a sh*t about.

Ok,

I am not complaining (I am), but let’s get this straight:

As I always say, even if you focus on getting 1% better every day, and progress slowly toward your goals,

You are already ahead of 90% of the competition.

But sorry to say, I wasn’t doing this for a while now, and got lost in my journey.

This is life, you start something, you get complacent, you introspect, you improve.

The Game plan:

To tackle any doubt in my life, not just in terms of coding, I just do 1 thing.

Write.

Don’t know why, but when I plan something, I always do it in a notebook.

Continuing the tradition, I grabbed a book, and a pen, and started writing.

After brainstorming for a while, I came up with a clear roadmap, of what to do in the next 4 months of 2023, this is what I did:

A 3-step questionnaire:

  1. What are my goals right now?

  2. What do I want to focus on in the coming months?

  3. What does my time allocation look like?

As soon as I answered these 3 questions, it was crystal clear to me.

Don’t worry, let’s tackle each one step by step.

1. What are my goals right now?

This one was pretty easy, you should be able to do this in under 10 minutes.
This is what my goals look like for the next few months:

  • Get good at MERN Stack

  • Start learning Python

  • Explore Machine Learning (optional)

These are pretty high-level, I use the S.M.A.R.T. goal-setting system which I taught you in the 100DaysOfCode journal (link at the end of email), shameless plug, but anyways, it’s pretty effective.

Onto the next one now…

2. What do I want to focus on?

I did this for more simplicity, to divide my goals into focus points for every month.

Example:
- August: Focus on my final year project
- Sept: Get better at ReactJS
- Oct: focus on backend and NodeJS
- Nov and Dec: Python, and build a portfolio site

Pretty easy, and should not take more than 20 minutes.

3. Time allocation

In the last email, I shared a FREE system with you, where you can allocate work according to the amount of time you have.

Which helps you stay consistent with coding, this step is exactly it, if you missed it, here is the link.

Was that too long? I know it might be too much information for a Sunday, but I have to stay true to my promise.

Every Sunday, an email from me will be the most valuable piece of content you have read that week.

Get it?

Damn, took me almost 2 hours to write this, but anyways, that’s all I have for you today, have a great weekend, or week, whenever you are reading this.

See you soon,
- Atharva

P.S. Whenever you are ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

1) Get access to my full Coding system and get to know how I became a developer, with video explanations, here.

2) Growing on Twitter and building an audience is a dream for many people, if you are someone who wants to do the same, check this now.

3) Get specific guidance on how you can 3x your pace of progress in coding or audience building with proven strategies, click here.