The SPG system for personal branding

Why you need a personal brand as a developer:

You gotta start building a personal brand right now”

I am sure you hear this advice a lot right?, and it is absolutely true, you need to put yourself out in the world of social media and build a brand.

But what’s so ‘personal’ about your brand?

As people say: Share your stories! Share your wins! Share what you had for dinner last Monday!

All of this is straight-up BS.

I came to know about this concept around 6 months ago.

Ever since, I have been all in on learning more and more about it through books, articles, threads, and what not.

Building a personal brand alone helped me progress in N number of aspects of life.

It is how I made my first $ online, made connections with people in different countries, and hopped on calls.

A personal brand can alone make you $$$ online, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

It became impossible for me to not research more about this concept and how it helps me in building my online business, 100% transparency.

And no, whatever you know about a personal brand, is false.

Yes, after a year of researching it, I got to know things that I wasn’t aware of in the first place.

Let’s get straight into it.

What is a Personal Brand?

I ask you, What is a Brand?

You can’t define it in words, but you know what it is, this is what Google says about a brand:

A brand is a product, service or a concept that is publicly distinguished from other products, services or concepts so that it can be easily communicated and usually marketed.”

‘DISTINGUISHED’ is the keyword here.

Now what is a personal brand?

The same thing, but now, it’s about you, how you write, what you write, your goals, your connections, how you interact, everything, but ABOUT you.

I know this seems obvious, but think about it, all this time, you were overcomplicating it (maybe) and getting confused, but now, you know exactly what makes a brand out of you.

But knowing this is not enough, there’s a lot I am gonna disclose about a personal brand.

Remember, I always tell you, an email from me on a lazy Sunday will be the most valuable piece of content you read that week.

I am a man of my words, let’s disclose the not-so-HIDDEN secrets of a personal brand.

The story, the process, the goal:

This is what I call the SPG system for personal branding, yes I came up with that.

Let me tackle this one by one:

The Story:

Not going to overcomplicate this thing, the story is just about you, who you are, what are you doing, what you wanna achieve, and how you wanna achieve it.

As. Simple. As. That.

Figure out the ideal future for your life, what does it look like? What’s your plan to achieve it?

It’s ok to not have a plan, but it’s NOT ok to be lazy. Go and do the work.

The Process:

Humans understand better with examples, let me give you mine:

You already know about my story, I am a CS Undergrad, an aspiring software engineer, who got interested in digital writing and audience building.

But what is my process?

It is how I am going to achieve this, writing online daily, building products, coaching people on how to do the same, and sharing my story.

Understand it? If not, my DMs are open :).

The Goal:

Example, again, what is my goal?

I want to build a one-person business consisting of services, digital products, and coaching people on how to do the same, + being an engineer alongside.

Figure out yours, will not explain this step in detail, because it is as simple as creating a vision for your ideal self.

Well, that’s all from my side for this email, any suggestions about what topics I should talk about in the coming weeks?

Reply with a topic you are curious about, I reply to all the emails :)

If you want to skip all these steps and want me to figure out for you, check the section below.

Talk soon.

-Atharva

P.S. As I told you, you can build a personal brand without having to do all the steps yourself, how?

1) Building a personal brand can be hectic, I put all the secrets in this, let’s see if I can help you, check this now.

2) Beginner hell in coding is frustrating, but I built a system for you to get past it, check it out here.

3) Coding alone is great, but having a mentor can change your trajectory, see if I can help you with it here.