Building, but not yourself.

READ TIME: 2 MINUTES

Hello there, my friend, as we had a discussion in the last email (if you missed it, read it online), how a youtube video,

Not even a video, a CONCEPT, changed everything for me, and how I finally got out of the rabbit hole.

I was spending hours every day, trying to figure out how I can finally get off watching tutorials and code myself.

But the effort wasn’t working, for some reason, the more I tried to swim, the more I sank.

So what was the turning point? Getting the build-in-public course from him.

That was it, I knew something was definitely going to change, BUILD IN PUBLIC.

That sounded like a new hope for me, even after spending months trying to figure out what to do, I got ready.

Ready to finally do the thing which was holding back so much progress.

I didn’t think about money, money is renewable, Time is not.

Immediately getting to work, I researched the guy’s background, his expertise was in Backend development.

He was making around $150,000/year, crazy, I know, and he is just 24.

Progress Compounds

The craziest part? He spends only a couple of hours coding every day.

But mind it, EVERY DAY.

Maybe that was the thing behind his immense knowledge.

But what exactly was this course about?

Coding in public challenge.

He shared his journey on social media, his wins, his failures, and everything he learned.

This is what I have been doing for a year now, get it yet?

How could a gaming addict like me who struggled to learn the basics of a language, become a front-end developer and build a business on Twitter?

Doing a challenge in public and progressing with others.

That was the moment I knew,

Getting stuck in a cycle of learning and not being able to code myself, was finally going to end.

I grabbed my book quickly, a pen, and the course, I outlined some steps to take so I could start as soon as I can:

  • Make a Twitter account

  • Set some goals

  • Set an end goal (where I want to be after 100 days)

  • Decide what I am learning today

  • Tweet about it.

That’s all, yes, it was easy, one of the best investments of mine.

I did this for 59 days to be precise, results?

Made a few friends on Twitter, learned HTML and CSS, built 5 landing pages in 2 days (true), hopped on calls, and started creating content.

But this was not it, I did it the first time, I failed in 2 weeks, second time, 40 days, third time, 100 days.

I made it, finally.

And after following the same systems for a year, I am applying to jobs today, sounds like where you want to be too?

Amazing!

That’s the spirit, if you don’t take action, even 1 step will be tough for you, but I am glad you are up, and planning to get ahead of everyone in the next 6 months.

I am learning the MERN stack today, and building block-chain web apps, the best part?

I code hardly for 2 hours/day, you heard that right.

But what exactly was the system I used, and the hidden benefits of using them, which got me ahead of 90% of the people my age in just 1 year?

Let’s save the secret ingredients for the next email, where we discuss it in depth.

I didn’t want to end up like 90% of the beginners did in coding, giving up after 2 months and failing.

PS: If you want to let me know you are reading, reply to this email with “GIFT” I have got a small surprise for you!

Thanks for reading it till here,

- Atharva “The build in public” guy